I FOR IOOO

one frame, a thousand journeys

buddha over the himalayas

153-01-himalayas-mountain-flight

This is the view from my window during my morning Himalayan flight. Pretty awesome considering I probably will never trek any of these peaks on foot. I’d love to say that this is the peak of Mount Everest or Mount Machhapuchhre but I can’t be sure as there were some peaks on the Himalayan mountains that we saw that morning.

My day started really early. I was supposed to be picked up at 5.30 so at 4.30 in the morning I was already up which left me ample time to get ready (and in case I overslept). But it wouldn’t be me if my travels go smoothly. The guy picking me up was 15 minutes late and I don’t mean to be anal but I was told to arrive to the airport on time because there were only 18 seats on the plane. 9 on the left and 9 on the right so everybody has window seats and the best ones are at the back of the plane so everybody wanted those seats.

When I checked in, I asked to be seated at the very back. I was given seat number 6 which I later found out was the wing section. Curses! Best seats were at the back, numbers 8 and 9.  I flew with Buddha Air. There was another airline but I couldn’t remember the name. Buddha Air sounds cooler anyway. And this is the plane I boarded. Not really. This is also one of Buddha Air’s fleets but the plane I boarded had the wings below the windows. Gah!

153-02-ready-for-take-off

If I’m not mistaken the flight took off at 7AM and was supposed to be an hour long flight. We got a peek at the cockpit and this is what it looked like. Plenty of unfamiliar instruments which looked complicated but it’s probably like playing a video game heheh.

153-03-cockpit

So the guys on the left row got first viewing of the Himalayan mountain range then the plane turned around and it was our turn. It was amazing looking at the peaks from above even though the weather gods didn’t love me that much that morning since it was a bit overcast.

The flight attendant (there was only one) was also selling t-shirts saying “I didn’t climb the Everest but I touched it with my heart”. I love you Nepal but that is pretty corny. Good effort though. I didn’t buy one.

We were also given a flight certificate which they left the date and name blank. Fine, I can live with that although if they filled in our names and flight date that’d be more appreciated. Don’t get me wrong, I had fun. It was a new experience for me but I wish the flight lasted longer. It wasn’t a full hour but 40 minutes from take off to landing instead. Give me my $200 back. Also when I got back at the airport my driver wasn’t waiting for me at my drop off area and I had to call my hotel to sort it out. This had nothing to do with the flight experience though.

I’d say it was a challenge photographing from the window of an aeroplane especially when you have the wing blocking some of the already narrow perspective not to mention the window reflection and the glare from the sun (yes, it was sunny for a few moments).

And here’s the actual view from my window.

153-04-buddha-air

Fly with Buddha =p

One comment on “buddha over the himalayas

  1. Moritz
    29/09/2014

    Sad to see that you did not have a really good view. Anyway, I think this is an amazing experience!

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on 29/09/2014 by and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .